Have you watched a good book lately?

If you love the Hallmark Channel you’re going to love these new offerings from Netflix. Sweet romance mixed with some small town drama and quirky characters is sure to appeal to fans of Debbie Macomber, Fern Michaels, Susan Mallery, Nancy Thayer and the like.

One of Netflix’s newest releases is Sweet Magnolias, based on the book series from Sherryl Woods. Three friends since childhood, Maddie, Helen and Dana Sue are living in their hometown of Serenity. Unfortunately, life seems to be anything but for these ladies. In season 1, based on this first novel, Maddie is facing divorce and an unexpected love interest just as the trio embark on a new business venture. There are 11 books in this series, including a cookbook of southern favorites.

Another Netflix Series that premiered late in 2019 is Robyn Carr’s Virgin River. A recently widowed nurse tries to start fresh by answering an ad for a position in a small northern California town. Disappointed at a lackluster welcome, she decides it was a mistake to come and decides to leave, but those plans are derailed when a baby is abandoned in town and she meets the mysterious Jack Sheridan. If this storyline catches your interest, the book series currently boasts 20 titles!